Never knew I’d become a Preacher!

I never really set out to tell the world to become vegetarians or vegans. I never really thought I was an activist for anything, much less animal rights. However after becoming a vegetarian myself I started to really care. Deeply, passionately care about what I am putting into my body, and what is happening to our world from consuming meat. What started off as guilt for killing cows, has full blown into something else for me. Our meat problems do not end at animals. Meat is much worse of an issue than murder. Meat is poisoning the human race, causing the environment to disintegrate, preventing the world from overcoming world hunger, and killing other natural resources. I never knew that one day I would become a preacher. I also never thought one day I’d become a teacher. I guess this is where I’m headed on my path to enlightenment. 😉

First off for anyone who bitches about weight or wanting to shed some extra pounds, you will definitely stop yo-yoing once you cut out the animal fat. Once that is gone you don’t have to worry about fat as much. Of course it will still be your responsibility to care for your body and to watch your sugar consumption, but cutting meat will slim you down! Once I stopped buying meat, my husband really didn’t have a choice in the matter, so he gradually stopped eating meat as well. And everyone has noticed that he’s lost weight! He didn’t even mean to, but because he’s not consuming all that extra animal fat, he has naturally leaned out. It’s also a great way to detox your body and let the engine start fresh! Also not having the meat sitting in your body makes you even feel lighter, cleaner, and less sluggish. According to the American Dietetic Association, vegetarians are also less likely to develop heart disease, cancer, diabetes, or high blood pressure than meat-eaters. Vegetarians get all the nutrients they need to be healthy (from plant protein, fiber, minerals, etc.) without all the nasty stuff in meat that slows you down and makes you sick, like cholesterol and saturated animal fat.

Being a vegetarian is also the best way we can help animals without being in the industry ourselves. By not eating animals, we are not stopping this business, or stopping the slaughtering but we are a voice that will speak loud and clear to the companies when their customers no longer want to consume their products. “Every vegetarian saves more than 100 animals a year from abuse.” (goveg.com 09)

Plus, I’ve talked about it before, meat is nasty! Meat is often contaminated with feces, blood, and other bodily fluids, all of which make animal products the top source of food poisoning in the US. Scientists at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health tested supermarket chicken flesh and found that 96 percent of Tyson chicken was contaminated with campylobacter- a dangerous bacteria that causes 2.4 million cases of food poisoning each year!

And what’s sad is that we’re all happily eating meat and getting food poisoning when other people in the world are starving and don’t even have enough grains to eat, much less meat! “It takes tons of crops and water to raise farmed animals-in fact, it takes up to 16 pounds of grain to produce just 1 pound of animal flesh! All that plant food could be used much more efficiently if it was fed to people directly. The more people who go vegetarian, the more we can feed the hungry.”

Okay, so I’ve already talked about how bad it is for us and the animals. Now what a lot of people don’t know…it’s bad for our Earth! Eating meat is one of the worst things that you can do for the Earth; it’s wasteful, it causes enormous amounts of pollution, and the meat industry is one of the biggest causes of global warming.

Just think about it! Have a good weekend! =)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Food Inc. is a good documentary to watch on this topic… I’d also suggest Earthlings (narrated by Joaquin Phoneix – a self-proclaimed vegan at an early age). However, Earthlings can be a little more graphic than Food Inc.

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

    Reply

  2. Posted by Christina Cronk on August 21, 2010 at 1:28 am

    Yes, Food Inc was wonderful. It’s weird how the preaching creeps up after a while, isn’t it? I became a vegetarian 2 years ago to try to lower my cholesterol naturally. Then as I learned more about it, my reasons shifted to include everything you’ve listed above: animal cruelty, environmental concerns, biproducts/chemicals, weight control and health related concerns aside from just the cholesterol issue I started with… Now I’m on a vegetarian soap box with no intention of stepping down.

    Reply

  3. Never knew I?d become a Preacher!…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

    Reply

  4. Posted by nicole herrera on August 22, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Another thing I took from food inc was the effect this industry has on the workers. How these companies will hire people from Mexico and organize it that so many people are picked up and arrested (but not enough so that it affects the the assembly line) everyday is disgusting.

    Reply

Leave a comment